Trippin’

If there’s one thing I love to do, it’s travel. Now I’m not the best traveller in the world – especially as I’ve become older, my anxiety levels have risen a little bit. While I used to love to get into the back of a cab (or tuk tuk) quite comfortable in my mediocre knowledge or lack thereof about my destination, I now want to exercise a little more control over my surroundings and research a destination quite thoroughly. This is bred from a combination of anxiety, paranoia and fear of the unknown.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s usually not the destination that worries me. It’s what could go wrong at the other end. For example: in late 2010 we went on a quick trip to Dili, and I doused the Sproglette in DEET like a madwoman because I know that Dengue Fever and Malaria are quite common throughout the area. It was also about 33 degrees everyday and I dressed the poor kid in jeans and socks because I was paranoid about those biting pests. A more legitimate worry, such as security, barely registered compared to my fixation on damn mosquito borne viruses.

So, while I love to travel, I am indeed not the best traveller.

At the moment I’m still in the throes of the joy of early motherhood – a feeling I really didn’t feel like I had with the Sproglette, because of a combination of factors (extensive travel through her infancy being one of them!) and we’re currently planning a little 2-week break to Singapore and perhaps beyond to visit a friend from the Ukraine days. We’ve done a little bit of travel since Harrie was born – a week to Sydney and a couple of weeks to Brisbane – but we haven’t done foreign travel, and we haven’t done hotels with her.

So this trip will be the test for how we go travelling as a family of four. It should be more than fine, I’m not really phased by it in any way, but it does make me realise that I want travel to be a part of our lives in the long run (and it likely will be, considering we live on the doorstep of SE Asia, and approx 4 hours from all other Australian capital cities).

If we ever have a third kid, I’ll have to wait until I’m 40 as then the Sprog will be 12, and she can au pair for me in transit. Yes, I’m serious.

Today I’m off to research island destinations in SE Asia for a mini break as part of our mini break. And I’m going to buy mozzie repellent too (Singapore has Dengue! I’m so bloody scared of the Dengue!)

Bon voyage!

4 thoughts on “Trippin’

  1. Ha! You could probably write a whole other post on the packing list and the lack of sleep the night before you travel. Good luck with your trip!

  2. Fun!! I am a strong believer in taking your kids traveling – although it is exhausting when they are little, they become great travelers as they get a little bit older. .

    When I worked in Alabama (which is almost like a foreign country to someone from Oregon) I met a “little old lady’ who had never traveled from her home….and her daughter was going to take her to the new Wal-mart which was 30 miles away (~48 km) in the next town. She had NEVER traveled to the next town in her life. I couldn’t believe it. Never had left her own town in the 70 years of her life. I was shocked….still am.

    1. OH MY GOD. I am completely shocked at that. COMPLETELY. I take it for granted that I have travelled all over the world… but still… not travelling out of her own TOWN? Wasn’t she remotely curious to see what the neighbouring town was like?!

Leave a Reply

