Darwin is a small town

The other day I decided to pop into one of my favourite boutiques here in Darwin – Viva La Body. I was on a bit of a smash and grab mission to pick up a birthday present for a friend, but alas when I arrived the door was locked. I figured the shop assistant must have popped off to the loo, so popped myself off to the Post Office and popped into Viva La Body on the way back.

Yep, that’s a lot of popping!

The store was open on the way back and as I was browing around, the assistant and I had a casual conversation – just the usual Darwin fodder: strange how it’s not wet yet, isn’t it hot though, town is SO quiet with no tourists in town. Etc etc ad infinitum.

I made my choice of present (some lovely resin bracelets – Darwinites must check them out!) and took them to the counter. As I was unloading my lovely new Botaniska tote / satchel from Kikki.K (now discontinued so purchased on special), the shop assistant commented, “You’re not from around here?”

Thinking this was a reference to the fact that one isn’t truly regarded as a Territorian unless they have lived here for 20 years, I said, “Oh, no, I’m not from the Territory, I have only been here for almost three years.”

(Note, there was no sarcasm in my voice when I made that statement).

“Oh,” she said.”Well, you’ve definitely been shopping somewhere outside of Darwin lately!”

“Oh,” I said. I was a little puzzled, wondering how she could tell…

“Yes, you didn’t buy that purse here. Or your bag!” she said.

Ah ha!

“No I didn’t,” I said. “I bought the bag in Brisbane and my purse online.”

“Ah,” she said. “I don’t know what I would do in Darwin without online shopping.”

Neither do I, nice lady. Neither do I.

All in all, a very strange but not unpleasant conversation.

4 thoughts on “Darwin is a small town

  1. Hi Gary – I think it’s a necessity! Even slightly unusual furniture pieces are hard to come by here, and if you do find something, there is only one store that will sell it, so there’s no shopping around! We do lots of shopping when in Brisbane/Sydney/Melb, and bring back very full suitcases.

  2. Heh. Did I tell you about the time I had someone randomly approach me in our only shopping centre, asking me about a dress I was wearing? She wanted to know if I’d bought it online and where – I had to break the bad news to her that it was from an actual store in Sydney… She was most disappointed!

Leave a Reply

