I give up (a rant about blogging)

*This post is likely to offend some – just putting it out there*

I started this blog in 2007 when I was living in Ukraine and thought it fitted well into the category of ‘expat blog’.

Fast forward to our return to Australia – with a child in tow – and me as an ‘expat blogger’ became obsolete. I quickly discovered that the Australian blogging community is chock-a-block full of parents (mums), and although I am a parent, I am no mummy blogger.

Living in the Northern Territory can be a little like living in a foreign land at times, which makes for some interesting fodder, but I also have a demanding full time job and am bringing up a child far away from the support networks of family and many friends.

So I have become more of a blog consumer than a blogger.

I’ve found a multitude of interesting bloggers in Australia, but I am now finding blog consumption just a little boring. I understand people need to make an income, but some days I can read 20 different blogs that are all promoting the exact same product they have been sent, or the same car they have been asked to drive for a month (but no obligation to post about it of course!).

And heaven forbid I start to talk about the frustration of posts for Best Bloggers – a competition that provides no rationale about how the Top 50 is chosen – I am not going to subscribe to a competition that is evidently no more than a popularity contest promoting, in large part, a bunch of people who have had the opportunity to network with each other in person.

The truth is, I can’t take part in this ongoing contest. I live in Darwin – 4 hours flight from most Australian capital cities. I can’t just nip across the M4 to town to make it to an event and there is no critical masse in Darwin to create events from. In my 4 years of blogging, I always found that blogs bring people together, but in the Australian blogging community these days, I really think blogging has served to crown a select few as the worthy ones (IRL knowledge compulsory of course), and make everyone else feel very left out.

It may well be a case of sour grapes on my part – heck who wouldn’t love stuff for free, to go to events and have a lot of fun (and yes, I do only get out about 2 times per year) – but honestly, there is nothing enjoyable about reading blog after blog after blog that tells me to buy this toy or that, especially when I know most of these bloggers actually have interesting, fun, substantial things to say.

I fear, dear blogging world (that’s you mum, my sole reader), that I think it might be time for me to go back to magazines.

Am I being totally unfair and off the mark? Share your thoughts!

11 thoughts on “I give up (a rant about blogging)

  1. My blog list does not contain a lot of “famous bloggers” (Edenland is the key exception, she’s awesome). I just choose the ones that I enjoy reader. If you don’t enjoy what you’re seeing, of course it’s right to stop, but if you have the time, explore some of the hidden alleyways of the blogging world 😀

  2. @ Ms Curious, thanks for your comment! I have a lot of bloggers on my blog roll / in my google reader – I read through 100+ posts a day (yes, addicted i know!). I read many of the ‘not so famous’ variety – but it seems that when I discover someone ‘new’, it’s not long til some of them succumb, if you know what I mean!

    The other thing is that I really like a lot of these bloggers as I have been following them for 2.5 years – that’s around the time many of them started blogging – and it’s hard to give up reading some of my favourite stories (because I’m a horrible, incessant voyeur!)

  3. @ Miss Posy – 😛 he he. I can only imagine that it’s harder for you as well because there are a lot of ‘mummy’ blogs, and it would be even more alienating for people who are not, in fact, mummies! (Although, the Mollydog is a little person).

  4. CCM – I LOVE Edenland! She’s just so honest and absolutely awesome. Very special lady. [I tried to reply directly to your comment but couldn’t work out how!]

    LMM – YES! Exactly. I find this very hard only having furchildren (really, I know this gets old quickly for people who don’t love their furkids the way I do)… and then living in PosyTown – it’s not like Sydney or Melbourne or somewhere else fun where there’s always lots to do. Anyhow, you know my thoughts 😉 *lesigh*

  5. Yr mum is not yr only reader! And the networking thing sounds a bit like one of the Sydney food groups that u used to have to go to in yr professional capacity. Same same but different! Keep up the blogging – u have a fantastic way of sharing big and small things that is genuinely interesting and amusing ; )

  6. listen ho don’t be a quitter – your turn of phrase is incomparable. We non blogger stalker types need you to keep us entertained. Anyway how else am I supposed to keep up with your big events? 😉

  7. I definitely understand where you are coming from. I have been reading a lot more Aussie blogs lately than I used to but there are definitely a lot of the same giveaway and sponsored posts on a lot of them which of course are no good for me anyway not been an Aussie resident. It is a bit of sour grapes for me though, if I am honest, I am jealous because of course I want free stuff. LOL

    I do know what it feels like to be on the “outside” though as well as I am not really an Aussie mummy blogger and my blogging community is more Japan based but I still like to read Aussie blogs too.

    I think your points are very valid and ultimately your blog is your own and no one elses and what you post here is first and foremost for you.

  8. Dear Little Miss Moi,

    Well, I can only speak for myself. Over the years, I have really enjoyed your blog, and take it from me, fame, networking, and the likes of it, is not what it is all about. Quite the opposite, in my view. It is exactly blogs like yours that makes it worthwhile following the blogosphere.

    Random reflections on various themes form words and sentences not uttered anywhere else, present the readers with alternative pictures and impressions of a world out there not covered by mainstream media or other channels. You simply get a touch of shifting realities that others fail to grasp. The ones who dance to the pipe of mainstream media or some sort of élitist discourse aren’t all that interesting. It seems you have all heard it before, so you scroll on to something of more interest – like indeed your blog. Also, it is not the content per se that catches your eye, but rather the expressions, making you want to share these thoughts with other people.

    Furthermore, is it readership that one would strive for? For the same reason as above, I don’t really think so, although most of us can’t keep away from checking the number of visitors almost on a daily basis. I sometimes call citizen media “raï journalism”, from the North African music style, where the meaning of raï is “my view”. The simple truth, as for myself, is that I primarily blog for myself, and secondarily for potential readers. Blogging is a way of formulating thoughts that one perhaps would not get the opportunity of doing otherwise.

    Then, of course, the question is if blogging is something of the past. Many of the ways that people interact on the Internet have brought us down different paths than blogging, e.g. Facebook and Twitter. Still, will we sustain interest in half-sentences or status updates on a plethora of mixed personal, political and other issues? I honestly do not know. What I do know is that blogging is currently the one place people can develop and finalise thoughts, communicating them to a worldwide audience with little limitation. Here, the obvious problem is that blogging has become so mainstream that it increasingly caters not to individual views bur rather to the general – and often superficial – views that blogging once was a reaction against. It would thus seem as a paradox that an increasing number of “true” blogger tend to leave the scene (what a true blogger is, I would personally not like to define), leaving space for more traditionally mainstream and, let’s say it out loud, BORING bloggers.

    Finally, what I would say, from my own experience, is that hibernation may be a good way to handle those times when you simply feel that you are fed up with it all or that you have little to say. Just wait and see. Before long there will likely be something you want to write about. So, as much as I would encourage you to keep on blogging, I would say that this is a question that will find its own answer. So, I finish this rant hoping that I will be able to read you also in the future, though with no demanding expectations that so will actually be the case. Blogging is seriously for fun, and should remain so.

    Yours,

    Vilhelm

Leave a Reply

