Reading frenzy

The bookshelves can’t take the weight of my addiction

I have a problem. I am addicted to reading.

When I start reading a book I like, everything else stops. I carry the book around with me (this is usually on the weekend), snatching a quick chapter or two in between anything I happen to be doing. I stay up late to get through a book – in fact, I have been known to stay up reading until the sun comes up the next morning.

These days what with full time working, mothering and pregnancy-ing, I limit myself to midnight, or on the very odd occasion, 1am, to ensure I can actually function the next day.

And I get really grumpy if I get interrupted or criticised for reading my book. For me, my reading is my ‘Me Time’.

I don’t know what it is – I’m not good with self-control or denial. Probably why I am a bit of a chubba. I just can’t put a good book down, and I can’t stop buying books. This has become a real problem, because we live in a non-huge apartment, and our overloaded MDF shelving does not go well with the extremes of heat and humidity in Darwin. As a result, the shelves have started to collapse on one another.

Yesterday, Mr Moi bought me a Mother’s Day present – the new Sookie Stackhouse book, Dead Reckoning, by Charlaine Harris. At almost 300 pages, it’s not a long book, but it’s not a short book. We got home from the shops at midday, and I finished it by 8.00 pm. That’s a lot of sneaky reading in an eight hour period.

Books I read in April that I thoroughly enjoyed and recommend:

The Help by Kathryn Stockett (I just found out this has a film adaptation coming out soon. Interesting)

The Forever Queen by Helen Hollick

The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley (Read it in two days. Loved it)

The Secret Lives of Dresses (Read it in a day. Loved it. Want a sequel! It’s a blog to book, but I didn’t realise it)

I also re-read The Girl in Times Square by Paullina Simons, North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell (OMG read it. You will not regret) all the Twilight books except New Moon (my least favourite) and all the Sookie Stackhouse books I own – I think I have six of them (my vampire fiction appreciation is my sad little secret).

Ahhh reading.

What will happen to me and my books when the new Sprog arrives? My lovely sister in law, also an avid reader, tells me I have to get my reading in during the nighttime feeds. But I’m just worried that I won’t actually be able to put the book down, and the next feed will find me still up, on tenterhooks about how the book’s going to end.

Ahhh reading.

Do you have reading frenzies? Any book recommendations for me? I love a good book!

9 thoughts on “Reading frenzy

  1. I’m similar lol, I have a buying book addiction however I can never find enough time to read them, or the emotional energy to invest into reading a book. So the pile grows on my bedside table. At the moment I have about 40-50 books sitting on my bedside table waiting to be read

  2. Ahhh, nooooo… Don’t be recommending books – I can’t keep up with the ones that I have! Mr Posy said I can’t buy any more books until I get through the massive pile (ahem, wardrobe-full) that I have, but pfft. Now I want to read “The Secret Life of Dresses” and “The Girl in Times Square”.

  3. Oooh, thanks for the recommendations, I’m always looking for new books to read!

    I highly recommend the Hunger Games trilogy and also Water for Elephants if you haven’t read them. I’ve read both of those in the last couple of months and loved them. Oh, and The Book Thief is fantastic too 🙂

  4. It is so hard to find the time to read your own books with kids. I always managed to read with newborns though. During the night time feeds and some of the day time feeds. The only thing I miss about breastfeeding is the forced time to sit down and perhaps pick up a book. As far as book recommmendations – the only two books I’ve read lately that I’ve enjoyed are Jasper Jones and Peter Fitzsimons A Simpler Time.

Leave a Reply

