Friday Night Foot-Bawl: Manners, ploise!

I sit here once again not on a Friday, writing my Friday Night Foot-Bawl post.

There were two reasons I couldn’t write my post last night:

  1. I was cranky about something, so I couldn’t concentrate
  2. I was reading my book, which I couldn’t put down. Hence my absence from blogland/twittersville this past week.

This week, I am going to implore the world for manners. Whether at work or in the home, manners are important. I’m not over the top with minding my manners but I always endeavour to say ‘please’, ‘thank you’, and acknowledge that I’ve appreciated help when I’ve received it.

And, funnily enough, I expect the same in return.

What I hate, more than anything, is when someone criticises something I’ve done but doesn’t have the guts to just tell me.

Throughout my life I’ve grown a pretty thick skin, working in a pseudo creative role in corporate organisations. I know what I do and how I do it isn’t going to gel with everyone.

If someone doesn’t like what I’ve done I want them to tell me. What I can’t abide is when someone hides their criticisms behind riddles so that they don’t have to actually tell me what their problem with me is.

This is worse than straight up passive aggressiveness, because it’s so blatantly annoying. In situations such as this I simply turn the conversation back to the person, telling them I don’t appreciate them speaking to me in riddles – if they have something to tell me, just spit it out.

So, I forewarn – if you ever have something to tell me – just tell me! I’m a big girl, I can cope with it!

How do you deal with criticism? How do you deal with passive aggresiveness? ARGH?!

3 thoughts on “Friday Night Foot-Bawl: Manners, ploise!

  1. Criticism – I try and tell myself it’s constructive and that I’m learning from it… then when it all gets too much I go home and cry in the shower.

    Don’t even get me started on passive aggressiveness. I’d rather somebody be flat-out aggressive, ugh!

    I still remember listening you to talking to A Certain Someone on the phone – and being in awe at you handled yourself with said person!

  2. I think I know which call you’re talking about, I just wish I could remember the pearls of wisdom I was saying!

Leave a Reply

