Pea & Ham Soup – Eat Well Wednesday

Ham bone in soup just waiting to be boiled

I have seen a few ‘Eat Well Wednesdays’ and ‘What’s Cooking Wednesday’ used around the place – here and here for example. So I thought I would jump on the bandwagon and get back into recipe-ing.

I love pea and ham soup. It’s the ultimate comfort food. Even in a warm climate like the North of the Northern Territory, I can still eat a good soup, especially when the weather ha sbeen perennially miserable thanks to repeated monsoons over the Top End. It has been a little cooler as a result, thus I can justify the soup.

I was shopping the other day and spotted ham bones in the deli. Not bacon hocks – ham bones. Great big bones that carried memories of leftovers at Christmas. I like a dog with a, well… bone! I just had to get one.

The problem was, it had been so long since I’d made pea and ham soup. So I didn’t put it on right away – rather, Monday evening after work I made an emergency phone call to my mum, and she gave me the very simple, very quick rundown of how to make the pea and ham soup I grew up with.

Pea and ham soup

1 x ham bone or bacon hock

1 x 500g pack of split peas (yellow or green – your preference)

1L chicken stock

1 large or 2 small carrots

1 clove garlic or to taste

1 tablespoon tomato paste

1 onion, chopped

pepper to taste (there is usually enough salt in the ham and chicken stock)

1. Pour the peas into a dish, cover with water and soak overnight OR microwave on 20 minutes on defrost

2. Drain water from peas, and put peas in a big boiler. Add all other ingredients, and if level of liquid is low, add water to cover all ingredients

3. Bring to the boil, then turn down to simmer. Simmer for a few hours, stirring regularly as the peas will stick

4. To remove bone / rind / fat, drain soup through a sieve and separate fat and rind from the meat. Add meat back to the soup

5. Serve and enjoy!

Pea and ham soup is one of those things – like chai masala in India or meatloaf in America, there is as many recipes as there are people. This is my (mum’s) version. Delish.

If Wednesday is indeed the day of reciping, let me know if you’re a recipe lover! I’m going to look into a Linky, in the meantime, leave a comment and I’ll pop on over.

Mouthwateringly good ham

Leave a Reply

