Travel snap Tuesday: Kristo Rei, Dili, East Timor

Kristo Rei, Dili

Last year, we went to Dili, which is the capital of Timor Leste (East Timor) and only 1 hour’s flying from Darwin.

Dili is a looong and skinny city, because Timor Leste is a very mountainous country, with the mountains stretching down pretty much to the ocean.

On the first afternoon that we were there, we decided to go take the walk up the headland to see the Kristo Rei statue. I don’t know much of the history, suffice to say that Timor Leste is a former Portuguese colony, as was Brazil, and thus I think that Kristo Rei was built in the style of the Christ the Redeemer Statue in Rio de Janeiro.

Boy, I hope I got all the spelling right there, cause I don’t think I’m going to wiktionary all those words.

I was totally paranoid during the whole walk up the hill, because we were absolutely sweating bullets, which meant I was afraid that we were sweating off our mozzie repellent. The mosquitos are… apparent… (not bad) in Dili, and I was afraid of exposure to Dengue Fever and Malaria. Well, the Sproglette especially. However, I have been known to, once or twice in my life, oh.. OVERREACT. So I think Mr Moi told me to take a chill pill and enjoy the view.

And enjoy the view I did…

View on Dili from Kristo Rei

The view from the top was absolutely beautiful – all the way up the coastline towards the airport and beyond. Dili is quite a small city, so it easily got lost in the view, and the sun was so softly descending for the night.

Once we got to the top, we snapped some pics of Kristo Rei, and then made our way back down. Which, believe it or not, was much more difficult than going up – I got the death shakes in my legs. There were so many steps, I did doubt the ability of my legs to carry my body.

However, we got to the bottom, and decided to treat ourselves to a sunset beverages.

Juice for dinner. Serious biz.

Travel snap Tuesday is about sharing a moment in time through a photo (or three). If you want to join in Travel Snap Tuesday, simply post a pic of anywhere you’ve been in Australia or abroad – perhaps even at the end of the street! Leave a link in the comments so I can voyeurise your pics.

Check out other Travel Snap Tuesday-ers:

Miss Posy: Where Imagination is the Destination

Feisty Kel: San Francisco City Hall



8 thoughts on “Travel snap Tuesday: Kristo Rei, Dili, East Timor

  1. Gorgeous pics. I’d love to visit there. We are heading to Darwin later this year will have to catch up!

    Keep plugging away at your blog, one day you’ll do a linky and you’ll get people!!

Leave a Reply

