An indulgent musical retrospective

We had a deadline to buy electronics when we moved into our new apartment. It was a Saturday and Mr Moi wanted to watch the footy that night. So, before we even set up our bed, we went to JB Hi-Fi to purchase a television (a big one, so Mr Moi’s favourite AFL games look BIG), a set-top box with HD recorder (to tape Mr Moi’s AFL games. No joke), and a stereo/DVD player with an iPod dock so we could both listen to the wireless and lots of music, which is something we didn’t do in Ukraine.

[Quick aside: we couldn’t listen to the radio because a) we couldn’t understand it and b) Ukrainian’s taste in music was absolutely tragic. There is no other word for it. So we never bothered buying a radio].

We still don’t have a TV stand, so the TV is currently sitting on top of two suitcases full of all our CDs (which have been in storage for three years), which means that, despite the new stereo, I haven’t been able to sit in front of it, as is my habit, and play CD after CD for hours on end, and generally create a big messy pile of CDs seperated from their covers, which never gets cleaned up.

I have, however, been sitting in front of it with the iPod, playing song after song after song, reliving the bygone years. I’m having a true musical renaissance, and wanted to share some of my favourite songs. So, it’s a lazy You Tube post today for me.

I would first like to present ‘Hole in Your Roof’ by my favourite Australian band, Augie March. This is from their first album, Sunset Studies, and is the first track on the album. It was literally, love at first listen.

Here’s ‘Baby Bitch’ by my favourite band, Ween. I’m still very pissed off I missed their 2008 tour of Australia, being that I was in Ukraine and all. They hadn’t toured since 1997, when I saw them play at the Livid Festival, and seriously, it was one of the best gigs I’ve seen, ever. I gave up seeing Devo to see Ween play, that’s how much I love them. They gave up seeing Devo to play their headline slot, which I think they were pissed off about.

Let’s rewind a little. Before I knew any other music existed, I was in love with Simon and Garfunkel from ages 14 through to 17. They were pretty much all I listened to, besides Cat Stevens. It’s so hard to choose a favourite out of their amazing discography, but I love ‘Poem on the Underground Wall’ from Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme.

And I am rather annoyed that their current tour of Australia didn’t make it to Darwin. The round trip down to Brisbane or Sydney was too expensive for me to even consider, so I live in hope that I’ll catch a gig of theirs some day, somewhere.

When I was an intern at the long-defunt tribe.com.au, I was given a CD called ‘Behind the Banana Curtain‘, released by the Brisbane community radio station, 4ZZZ. The Go-Betweens track on there, ‘Karen’, became my theme song for the year of the new millenium. I couldn’t find a You Tube clip for it, so I give you ‘Was There Anything I Could Do?’

Robert Forster is so goddamn cool. I have a new place in my heart for The Go-Betweens – a Brisbane band – because my mum hit ‘play all songs’ on her iPod when I was in labour. Le Sprog was ultimately born in Brisbane to a sucession of songs by the best BrisBand ever.

Next up is a song by the late Elliott Smith from the Royal Tannenbaums Soundtrack. Not very imaginative of me to love a song from a soundtrack, but it was a great soundtrack, and this is a great song.

And we’ll end this little music retrospective with an absolute classic: ‘Sinnerman’ by Nina Simone (none of that remix rubbish here). You must turn up the volume to listen to this song. The clapping sequence has got to be one of the best moments of contemporary music, in my opinion (OK that’s a big call and I don’t think I really believe it, but the clapping is amazing).

And in the words of my grandpa after we spoke to him every Sunday, ‘Thanks for listening’.

4 thoughts on “An indulgent musical retrospective

  1. I love this ~ I am in a real “find new music” mood at the moment so am going to check some of this out. In a way it is a shame the iPod has done away with the CD mess. Hubby and I used to do that too ~ even with the occasional cassette. A glass of wine in one hand and waving a “tape” madly in the other “do you remember this song, I loved this song”. Good times.
    ps. love your last line too ~ so sweet!

  2. I’ve always been a Nina fan. I wanna little sugar….heaven.

    Okay, so I thought I knew what AFL was – but apparently I don’t…it is more Rugby than American Football (which what I thought the AF stood fore.). Those guys are tough!!!!

Leave a Reply

