Crispy duck banned from Beijing toilets

From news.com.au

FOOD stalls attached to Beijing’s public toilets will be removed in good time for next year’s Olympics, state media said.

Complaints over toilets with poor sanitation and toilet operators turning them into commercial operations led to the ban, which comes into force in October.

“It is not proper to sell soft drinks or snacks right at the toilets,” the Beijing News said, citing sources within the Beijing Municipal Administration Commission.

“The city authorities also plan to publish a toilet guide, provide toilet information over the telephone and the Internet and erect more road signs to help toilet users.”

Billboards near toilets will also be banned, Xinhua news agency said.

Notoriously polluted Beijing is cleaning up its act before it hosts the Olympics.

It has also announced crackdowns on spitting and smelly taxis.

28 thoughts on “Crispy duck banned from Beijing toilets

  1. Hmm. Athens also tried to tidy up. Taxi drivers were supposed to learn English and supposedly had lessons on being polite. Might have been more use if they were told that customers had the right to go where they wanted and not just where the taxi driver wanted to go.

    The end result was not much different. Unfinished new stations for the railway and metro still grace the northern suburbs. Not unlike Kyiv in the 90s.

  2. Wow, Little Miss Moi, I am rushing to buy my Olympic tickets today. I am sorry, but that is amazing… food stalls right next to the toilets. Beijing must be quite a place, and the pictures always look so serene.

  3. well little mrs moi- aunt of many,
    long time no talk to.
    any bambinos from you? love the idea of the book. you go girl!!!!!
    did mr moi give you his brekky? trouble if if no eh?

  4. Hi, there, Little Miss Moi!

    I just happened upon your blog while looking for information about Kyiv. I’m a novelist living in the U.S., and I’d love to talk to you about some details about the city for a book I’m writing. Could you contact me at my email? I’d appreciate it a lot. 🙂

    Cathy

  5. when you gonna do a new post? everytime I check your blog I keep seeing this story and it’s making me feel queasy – especially as I had duck in a chinese restaurant this lunchtime.

  6. I’m here via Carpetblog. Interesting post, but a bit odd, because here in Malaysia I happened upon a sign posted by a public toilet in a rather upscale mall that says:

    In The Public Toilet.
    Perhaps not the best place to consume your lunch.
    But in the end, it really is your choice.

    (The sign is sponsored by a restaurant in the mall.)

    Go figure.

    As an addendum that has not much at all to do with your post but that is, in its own way, equally gross, when I lived in China in the mid-90s local members of my health club used to reheat their KFC on the fake coals in the sauna.

  7. Hi all. Long time no hear from. Well, I just read Robyn’s comment – erg! Gross! Reheating KFC on the coals in the sauna… then again, the only time I eat KFC is when I’m hungover, and I do silly things then, so perhaps I would do something similar…

Leave a Reply

