Which animal goes ‘clip, clop, clip, clop’?

About five minutes ago, as I was basking in the morning mugginess of my muggy apartment, I noticed a noise floating up through the open balcony door.

‘Clip, clop, clip, clop,’ went the noise.

After my weekend close encounter with a horsey – in the countryside – I was rather excited to hear one coming up the rather busy main road that I live on, in the middle of the city.

So excited, in fact, that I tore myself away from the table and started to make my way to the door.

I was halfway there when I realised… Of course it’s not a horse. What was I thinking? Firstly, a horse just couldn’t come up my street, unless it wanted to be turned into car-manufactured dog food, quick smart.

At the same time I that this thought, I remembered that horses aren’t the only animals that go ‘clip, clop, clip, clop.’

Can anyone guess what was walking up my street?

28 responses to “Which animal goes ‘clip, clop, clip, clop’?”

  1. The spike-heel wearing locals?

  2. A human wearing clogs? Or holding castanets?

  3. it’ll take two devushkas walking in unison

  4. puss in boots? with special tap heels?

  5. A child with a coconut shell cut in half!

  6. A very large, platform – wearing Russian transvestite?

  7. I give up! What was it????

  8. Huh, the post was good, but the comments have me rolling off my chair!

    Let me guess…a three legged dog.

  9. No idea! Do tell!

    BTW, LMM, I LOVE your new blog. I think I may make a switch, too!

  10. Hmm. If it was not a horse then it’s unlikely to be a donkey, or that too would be headed in the same direction the horse would be. How about a miniature pony? I saw a photo of one of those the other day. Although it was wearing sneakers (??) so maybe it wouldn’t make that noise.
    You do hint it is an animal. The only other one I could guess would be a human in cloppy shoes. I have some that make that noise, but trust me, it was not me.
    I give up!

  11. Ok, I was just screwing around when I said zebra, I know there’s no zebras wandering the streets of molvania. So my real guess is a giraffe.

  12. I would say definitley a reindeer…

  13. It was moi. I’m back in Kyiv! And I’m sporting hooves from all the sinful things I did in Croatia.

    Not really.

    Haha.

    Drop me a line.

  14. why couldn’t it have been a horse? we have horses clip clop up and down our street in surry hills all the time.

  15. you still keeping us in suspense!? Do tell us!!

    Welcome back, Nataliya, hope to see you at Krayona Mriy festival

  16. Was it a European Swallow, or an African Swallow? They could grip the coconut by the husk.

  17. Sir Lancelot from The Holy Grail?

  18. A Drag Queen!!

    Oh…wait…maybe a Drag Queen riding a donkey??

    Llama?

    This is killing me.

  19. I can’t even begin to imagine, but I have tagged you to do a meme, about your day, so maybe you could do that and we would find out that way! Hope you don’t mind being tagged!

  20. 2 clogging midgets doing a thre legged race?

  21. As mentioned above, the question was intriguing, but what really made this posts was the comments— hilarious!!
    What is the translation of devuska exactly?

  22. lacubanagringa Avatar
    lacubanagringa

    The Domino’s Pizza Delivery guy? I hear they’re quite fond of heels.

  23. Ha! Hilarious, especially since I know the punch line already.

    Too cute.

Leave a comment